Successfully sponsored/passed legislation supporting businesses and job opportunities in District 3 including:

  • a bill establishing the Golden Mile Enterprise Zone, making businesses that relocate or expand in that area or hire additional employees, eligible for certain tax credits;
  • a bill providing a Small Business Tax Credit, again making small businesses that relocate to or expand in Frederick County, and hire additional employees, eligible for certain tax credits;
  • a bill establishing a Commercial Business and Industrial Tax Credit. 

Secured successful passage of budgets increasing school funding for:

  • Construction money to ease overcrowding and modernize schools in District 3 including:
    • Butterfly Ridge ES (and the additional funding for the oversized gym to allow for community use)
    • Frederick High School
    • Rock Creek School
    • Waverley ES
  • Salary increases to retain/attract highly qualified teachers and staff
  • New technology and upgrades including funding for Chromebooks and hot spots during the pandemic
  • New and innovated programs for students including the LYNX program at FHS.

M.C. has successfully sponsored and passed “green energy” legislation including bills:

  • permitting solar arrays on agricultural land under specific conditions while ensuring protection of our county’s most productive and valuable farmlands;
  • requiring certain new homes in the county be built with a conduit system allowing for easy wiring or upgrade of EV charging equipment even after home is completed.


Effectively responds to concerns and crisis within her district:

  • Worked with County Executive to get a testing clinic and vaccination clinic established on the Golden Mile to enable residents to have easier access to critical health care
  • Was successful in getting visits from the Mobile Health Care van to western side of Frederick City, many times in coordination with food distribution efforts
  • Collaborated with County Executive to ensure information about food and housing support services were made available to residents in District 3, ensuring that necessary information and assistance was provided to the non-profits and organizations working within specific cultural communities
  • Assisted County Executive and Administrative staff communicate with residents of Clover Hill when flooding issues arose
  • Worked with Alderman Wilson to address unsafe walking conditions on Butterfly Lane for students and families attending Butterfly Ridge ES
  • Worked with FCPS to address dust, debris, flooding and parking issues raised by residents in vicinity of Butterfly Lane during the construction of Butterfly Ridge ES
  • Successful in advocating for branch library on western side of Frederick City, with the opportunity to have this built several years ahead of schedule.

As the President of the Council (and before that as V.P.), M.C. successfully secured votes necessary for approval of 7 (soon to be 8) fiscally responsible budgets funding critical needs, such as hiring more emergency response personnel (sheriff’s deputies, fire fighters, EMTs, and 9-1-1 call takers), addressing school overcrowding or renovation needs, adding libraries and new county parks – ALL while maintaining the current property tax rate and not increasing taxes.

As President (and before as Vice-President) of the County Council, M.C. ensures that the County Council operates within their Rules and Procedures and according to the Charter, and maintains regular order, so meetings can be productive and civil and work can be completed in a timely manner.

Working to benefit all:

M.C. voted to strengthen the county’s ethics laws, ensuring open and transparent government and maintaining the public trust.

Supported the legislation to retain the county’s Citizens Care and Rehabilitation Center and Montevue Home, honoring the terms of the original deed and keeping our promise to our citizens.

Serves on various community Boards and Commissions including:

Senior Services Advisory Board – where she advocates for additional funding and programs which support Frederick County’s senior population, allowing them to remain in their homes longer and live healthier, high quality lives;

The Frederick Community Action Agency – where she works to address issues relating to homelessness and poverty in Frederick County.  Voted to increase funding for Community Partnership Grants, providing funding to Frederick County non-profit organizations to provide programming and direct services for vulnerable residents;

Containment Laboratory Community Advisory Committee (CLCAC) – where she monitors issues relating to containment labs in Frederick County, including Ft. Detrick, and continues to work to establish a registry of these labs with the state Dept. of Health and Mental Hygiene in case of an emergency;

The Workforce Development Board – where she works with businesses, schools and organizations in the community to provide training, mentoring and other assistance to help residents find meaningful, gainful employment in Frederick County;

The Frederick Count Board of Elections – where she serves as the liaison for the County to the Board;

Maryland Association of Counties (MACO) Legislative Committee and the Education Subcommittee (7 years) – where she monitors legislation at the State level to ensure the best interests of Frederick County are protected and that Frederick County maintains control over local issues; elected President of the Women of MACO (August 2018), and is the current Treasurer serving on the Board of Directors.

MWCOG (Metropolitan Washington Council of Governments) – where she sits on the Chesapeake Bay and Water Resources Policy Committee, on the Region Forward Coalition, and sometimes on the Energy and Environment Policy Committee.

National Associations of Counties – where she sits on the Energy, Environment and Land Use Subcommittee.  

Regularly attends the Neighborhood Advisory Committee (NAC) meetings for the NACs in District 3 to hear first-hand from District 3 constituents.

Graduate of the University of Maryland School of Public Policy Leadership Academy 2019